Moeen Ali to miss PSL 8

The all-rounder was roped in by Islamabad United for the eighth edition of the tournament

By Web Desk
February 02, 2023
Moeen Ali will be representing England in the series against Bangladesh — AP

England star all-rounder Moeen Ali is set to withdraw from the Pakistan Super League (PSL) to focus on the upcoming ODI World Cup and represent the national side in Bangladesh, The Mirror reported.

Moeen, who was roped in by two-time champions Islamabad United for the eighth edition of the PSL, has already played 36 cricket matches in three different formats this winter.

The vice-captain of the England white-ball team has travelled extensively, beginning with a seven-match T20I series in Pakistan. He has played in Australia, where he won the T20 World Cup, Abu Dhabi in the T10, and the UAE in the ILT20, before arriving in South Africa for the current ODI series, and it is wearing him out.

The centrally contracted all-rounder, whose focus is on the 50-over World Cup, understands that the three ODI and three T20 tour to Bangladesh is a crucial step for him before the ODI World Cup in India.

And before returning to service for England and continuing his middle order form, he wants to enjoy a brief two weeks at home.

Due to his family's Pakistani heritage, Moeen has a special affection for the PLS; yet, he wanted to give himself the best chance of guiding England to back-to-back 50-over World Cups, so something had to give.

However, earlier, England top-order batter Alex Hales chose PSL over national duty and withdrew from the English side's tour of Bangladesh.

Several other England cricketers, including Sam Billings, Liam Dawson, and James Vince, followed in Hales' footsteps and opted for the Pakistan Cricket Board's (PCB) marquee event instead of national duty.

The PSL 8 will commence on February 13 when defending champions Lahore Qalandars take on 2021 champions Multan Sultans in the opening clash at the Multan Cricket Stadium after the opening ceremony.

Rawalpindi will stage 11 fixtures, Karachi and Lahore will host nine matches each, whereas Multan will have five home games.