Yadav trumps Rizwan to win ICC T20I Cricketer of 2022 award

Indian batter scored 1164 runs in 31 matches at an average of 46.56

By Web Desk
January 25, 2023
Yadav impressed one and all with his batting in 2022 — AFP

India’s Suryakumar Yadav won the ICC Men’s T20I Cricketer of the Year award on Wednesday.

Yadav scored 1164 runs in 31 matches at an average of 46.56 and a strike-rate of 187.43 during 2022.

Pakistan’s Mohammad Rizwan, Zimbabwe’s Sikandar Raza and England’s Sam Curran were also in running for the award.

“Yadav hit a stunning 68 sixes during the year, easily the most recorded by anyone in a year in the format's history. The Indian was the key batter for his team through the year, smashing two hundreds and nine half-centuries,” the ICC stated in a press release.

“Yadav was at his stupendous best during the ICC Men's T20 World Cup 2022 in Australia, recording three fifties in six innings and averaging nearly 60 during the tournament. Notably, his strike-rate was yet again right up there at 189.68.

“Having already recorded a ton earlier in the year, Suryakumar continued his brilliant year after the multi-nation tournament, making his second hundred in T20Is in the year in the bilateral series in New Zealand. Yadav also became the top-ranked ICC Men's T20I Player Rankings, achieving a career-high 890 rating points.”

Meanwhile, Australia’s Tahlia McGrath has been named as the ICC Women’s T20I Cricketer of the Year after scoring 435 runs in 16 matches at an average of 62.14. She also claimed 13 wickets.

McGrath saw off competition from India opener Smriti Mandhana, Pakistan's all-rounder Nida Dar and New Zealand captain Sophie Devine.

The winners of the ICC Awards are identified from the results of the ICC Voting Academy, comprising a wider selection of global cricket journalists and broadcasters, with cricket fans also contributing to the vote via the ICC’s digital channels.

The Performance Period for the awards was January 1 – December 31, 2022.