PSL 8: Hafeez will be available for selection in replacement draft - sources

Hafeez left Lahore Qalandars before PSL 8 players' draft

By Web Desk
January 25, 2023
Mohammad Hafeez during his stint with Lahore Qalandars - Twitter/Lahore Qalandars

Veteran cricketer Mohammad Hafeez will be available for selection in the replacement draft for Pakistan Super League (PSL) season 8, set to take place today at 7pm (PST)

Hafeez, who went unpicked in players' draft last December, will be center of attraction for franchises in replacement draft, sources told  

The right-handed batter has represented Peshawar Zalmi and Lahore Qalandars during the last seven seasons. He has accumulated 1596 runs in 71 matches to remain fourth highest run-scorer in the league so far. 

Other players who are available in replacement draft include Aaron Finch (Australia), Kieron Pollard (West Indies), Mohammad Nabi (Afghanistan), Shakib al Hasan (Bangladesh), Dawid Malan (England), Rassie van der Dussen (South Africa), Dasun Shanaka (Sri Lanka), Lungi Ngidi (South Africa) and Reece Topley (England). 

The replacement draft will be live-streamed on PSL's official YouTube channel today at 7pm (PST).

Lahore Qalandars will pick a permanent replacement for England's Harry Brook who will miss the entire edition due to national duty. Meanwhile, Qalandars will make partial replacements for Jordan Cox and Rashid Khan who will miss the first three matches.

England's Adil Rashid will also miss PSL 8, hence his franchise Multan Sultans will pick a replacement today. Also, Sultans will pick partial replacements for David Miller (South Africa), Akeal Hussain (West Indies), and Tim David (Australia).

Two-time champions Islamabad United will have partial replacements for Alex Hales (England), Moeen Ali (England), Rahmanullah Garbaz (Afghanistan), and Fazalhaq Farooqui (Afghanistan). 2017 PSL champions Peshawar Zalmi will take a turn for the partial replacements of Mujeeb-ur-Rahman (Afghanistan) and Rovman Powell (West Indies).

Meanwhile, Quetta Gladiators will also pick partial replacements for Waninidu Hasaranga (Sri Lanka), Jason Roy (England), and Odean Smith (West Indies).

All the franchises will also pick two players each in the supplementary category to complete their squads of 20.