PSL 8: 'We want to create history by defending our title,' says Qalandars' owner Atif

Qalandars won PSL 2022 under the leadership of Shaheen Afridi

January 21, 2023
Aaqib Javed (L), Atif Rana (C), Shaheen Afridi (R) - Lahore Qalandars

KARACHI: Lahore Qalandars, under the leadership of young Shaheen Shah Afridi, won their maiden Pakistan Super League (PSL) title last year. 

Qalandars' fans had to wait for seven long years to watch their team win the coveted title. 

From attracting eyeballs by picking big cricketing names to setting up a proper player development program, Qalandars came a long way to achieving what no other franchise could. Players like Haris Rauf, Dilbar Hussain, Salman Irshad, Shaheen Afridi, Abdullah Shafique, Kamran Ghulam, Harry Brook, David Wiese, Tim David, and many others were polished under the banner of 2022 champions.

Now, happy and satisfied owners of Qalandars look for another feat in this year's PSL.  

Speaking to, one of the Qalandars' owners Atif Rana shared his wish to become the first-ever team in PSL to defend its title. 

"We have achieved so much during our PSL journey. It includes players' development program, open trials, setting up a high-performance center, and grooming superstars," he highlighted. 

"The only thing we wish now is to become the first-ever team to win back-to-back PSL title," he shared. 

Qalandars beat Multan Sultans by 42 runs in the final to win PSL last year. Shaheen proved his mettle as captain and led the side to title victory in just his first stint as captain.

Lahore Qalandars to begin PSL 8 preparations

Lahore Qalandars will begin their campaign for PSL 8 from February 4 in their home city.

The six-day training camp will be held under the state-of-the-art facilities of Qalandars High Performance Centre, Lahore.

The whole Qalandars squad including the captain, Shaheen, will feature in the camp which will conclude on February 9.