Zaman joins Warner, Sharma in elusive list

Left-hander scored 101 runs in 122 balls during the third ODI against New Zealand

By Web Desk
January 13, 2023
Zaman raises his bat and helmet after scoring a century — PCB

Pakistan opener Fakhar Zaman has joined an elusive list after his century in the third ODI against New Zealand in Karachi on Friday.

After scoring 101 runs in 122 balls, Zaman became one of the few openers in the world to have an average of more than 45 and strike-rate in excess of 90 in ODI cricket.

The other openers who have achieved the same feat in the past includes Australia’s Shane Watson and David Warner, England’s Jonny Bairstow, India’s Rohit Sharma and South Africa’s Quinton de Kock.

Earlier, Pakistan captain Babar Azam won the toss and opted to bat on Friday in the third ODI.

Pakistan have made two changes to their playing XI with Shan Masood and Mohammad Hasnain replacing Imam-ul-Haq and Naseem Shah.

Imam and Naseem are suffering from hamstring injury and fever, respectively.

Meanwhile, New Zealand are unchanged for the third ODI.

It must be noted that opener Devon Conway hit a sparkling hundred to help New Zealand achieve a convincing 79-run win over Pakistan in the second ODI in Karachi on Wednesday.

The left-hander scored 101 and captain Kane Williamson made 85 before a collapse which saw New Zealand lose nine wickets for 78 runs and restricted them to 261 all out in 49.5 overs.

Pakistan lost wickets at regular intervals and despite a fighting 79 from skipper Babar Azam, the home team were dismissed for 182 to leave the three-match series tied at 1-1.

Earlier, Pakistan strolled to a six-wicket victory over New Zealand in the first ODI on Monday after fast bowler Naseem took five wickets in Karachi.

The 19-year-old grabbed 5-57 for his second five-wicket haul in just four ODI appearances as New Zealand, sent in to bat, managed 255-9 in their 50 overs at the National Stadium.

Mohammad Rizwan (77 not out), skipper Babar Azam (66) and Fakhar Zaman (56) then helped Pakistan cruise to victory with 11 balls to spare.


New Zealand: Finn Allen, Devon Conway, Kane Williamson (c), Daryl Mitchell, Tom Latham (wk), Glenn Phillips, Michael Bracewell, Mitchell Santner, Ish Sodhi, Tim Southee and Lockie Ferguson.

Pakistan: Fakhar Zaman, Shan Masood, Babar Azam (c), Mohammad Rizwan (wk), Haris Sohail, Agha Salman, Mohammad Nawaz, Usama Mir, Mohammad Wasim Jr, Mohammad Hasnain and Haris Rauf.