Ahmad, Kamran appreciate Najam Sethi's team for reviving departmental cricket

PCB management committee restored departmental cricket

By Web Desk
January 03, 2023
Ahmad Shahzad (L) and Kamran Akmal (R) - PCB

Ahmad Shahzad and Kamran Akmal appreciated Pakistan Cricket Board (PCB)'s management committee for reviving departmental cricket. 

Management committee member Shakil Sheikh, on Monday, shared that departments/services organisations, regions, and district/zonal cricket associations are restored under the PCB Constitution 2014.

While replying to the tweet, Ahmad and Kamran appreciated this decision

"Department cricket has been a nursery of producing quality cricketers for Pakistan. This is indeed welcoming news - hope Pakistan cricket and cricketers benefit from it," Ahmad wrote. 

"Alhamdulliah. Good initiative. Back to roots. So happy for the revival of Regional & departmental cricket," Kamran wrote. 

PM (also the board's patron) Shehbaz Sharif formed a 14-member committee last December to enforce 2014 constitution.

The committee is headed by former PCB chairman Najam Sethi while other members include Sheikh, Gul Zada, Aized Syed, Tanvir Ahmed, Gul Muhammad Kakar, Ayaz Butt, Nauman Butt, Shahid Afridi, Shafqat Rana, Haroon Rashid, Sana Mir, Mustafa Ramday, and Chaudhry Arif Saeed.

Prior to holding the elections, the management will work for at least 120 days under the 2014 PCB constitution —which was approved by the Ministry of Law with a few minor changes.