Imad Wasim returns as Karachi Kings skipper

Babar Azam led the side last season

By Web Desk
December 14, 2022
Karachi won its only PSL title under Imad Wasim's leadership in 2020 — Karachi Kings

Pakistan all-rounder Imad Wasim has been named as the captain of the Karachi Kings for the eight edition of the Pakistan Super League (PSL).

The decision was taken after former captain Babar Azam decided to leave the franchise for Peshawar Zalmi. 

Under the captaincy of Wasim, who was first appointed in 2017, Karachi had won their only PSL title in the 2020 edition of the tournament.

Last month, in one of the biggest trades of the tournament, 2017 champions Peshawar Zalmi snapped Azam in the Platinum category and the first pick in the supplementary round for Haider Ali and Shoaib Malik who move to Karachi Kings, the winners of the 2020 edition, in Platinum and Diamond categories, respectively, before the trade and retention window closed.

During the last season, Kings, led by Azam, became the first team to lose nine matches in a single edition of PSL and finished at the bottom of the points table.

The players' draft for PSL season 8 will take place in Karachi on December 15.

The PCB has already revealed the pick order for the draft, where defending champions Lahore Qalandars will make the first pick.

Quetta Gladiators and Multan Sultans will have second and third picks. The fourth and fifth picks will be done by Karachi Kings and Islamabad United. Meanwhile, Peshawar Zalmi will make the sixth pick.

The next 17 rounds were decided through a special statistical tool.

PSL 8 is scheduled from February 9 to March 19 in Karachi, Multan, Rawalpindi, and Lahore. Lahore Qalandars will defend their title.