PCB announces match officials for Pakistan-England Test series

First match begins on December 1 in Rawalpindi

By Web Desk
November 24, 2022
Joel Wilson (L) and Aleem Dar (R) are among the officials for the series — ICC

LAHORE: The Pakistan Cricket Board (PCB) has announced match officials for the upcoming three-match Test series against England.

Andy Pycroft, member of the ICC Elite Panel of Match Referees, will lead the playing control teams for the series in December.

Three out of six officials are from the ICC Elite Panel of Umpires, who will officiate the Tests across Rawalpindi, Multan and Karachi.

“Joel Wilson, who is one of the 11 members of the ICC Elite Panel of Umpires, will join Ahsan Raza as on-field umpire for the opening Test, which will be the first between the two sides on the Pakistani soil since 2005,” the PCB said in a press release.

“Marais Erasmus will be the third umpire and Asif Yaqoob will be the fourth umpire. Marais Erasmus and Aleem Dar, the other two umpires from the ICC Elite Panel of Umpires, will take on-field duties in Multan with Joel Wilson and Rashid Riaz performing third and fourth umpire duties.

“The playing control team for the third Test in Karachi will be the same as the first Test with Joel Wilson and Ahsan Raza returning as on-field umpires and Marais Erasmus and Asif Yaqoob taking up third and fourth umpire roles.

Ahsan Raza, Asif Yaqoob and Rashid Riaz are members of the ICC International Panel of Umpires.”

The England team will arrive in Pakistan on November 27 for the much-anticipated tour.

After the first Test in Rawalpindi, which starts on December 1, the second Test moves to Multan starting on Friday, December 9, and the final Test of the tour will take place at the National Stadium in Karachi, commencing on Saturday, December 17.


Pakistan: Babar Azam (c), Mohammad Rizwan (wk), Abdullah Shafique, Abrar Ahmed, Azhar Ali, Faheem Ashraf, Haris Rauf, Imam-ul-Haq, Mohammad Ali, Mohammad Nawaz, Mohammad Wasim Jr, Naseem Shah, Nauman Ali, Salman Ali Agha, Sarfaraz Ahmed (wk), Saud Shakeel, Shan Masood and Zahid Mehmood.

England: Ben Stokes (c), James Anderson, Harry Brook, Zak Crawley, Ben Duckett, Ben Foakes (wk), Will Jacks, Keaton Jennings, Jack Leach, Liam Livingstone, Jamie Overton, Ollie Pope, Ollie Robinson, Joe Root and Mark Wood.