ICC reveals new format for 2024 T20 World Cup

The tournament will work in two phases before the knockouts

By Web Desk
November 21, 2022
Captains take a selfie before T20 World Cup 2022 — ICC

DUBAI: The International Cricket Council (ICC) has revealed a new format for the next edition of the T20 World Cup in 2024.

The USA and West Indies will host the 20-team event, which will work in two phases before the knockouts.

“The top two teams in each of the four groups of five will move to a Super Eight phase, where the remaining sides will be split into two groups of four. The top two in each group will then make their way to the semi-finals,” the ICC said in a press release.

Alongside hosts USA and West Indies, the top eight teams in the recently-concluded T20 World Cup in Australia (top four in each Super 12 group) secured spots for the 2024 tournament.

Meanwhile, the next best teams, Afghanistan and Bangladesh, on the ICC Men’s T20I Team Rankings also booked their place in the mega event.

The final eight spots for the 2024 edition will be determined through regional qualifiers.

In the regional qualifiers, Africa, Asia and Europe will have two qualification spots, with one spot for both the Americas and East-Asia Pacific regions.

The ICC is confident that “with more teams and a new format, the 2024 edition of the ICC Men's T20 World Cup is certain to throw up fresh match-ups and historic moments”.

It must be noted that England were crowned T20 World Cup 2022 champions after defeating Pakistan by five wickets on November 13 at the Melbourne Cricket Ground.

Chasing a modest target of 138 runs, England reached home in 19 overs.

England are the first men's team to hold the ODI and T20 World Cup titles at the same time.