Pakistan’s T20 World Cup dream over as England crowned champions

England won by five wickets in the final at the MCG

By Web Desk
November 13, 2022
England lift ICC T20 World Cup 2022 trophy - ICC

MELBOURNE: England are crowned T20 World Cup 2022 champions after defeating Pakistan by five wickets. 

Chasing a modest target of 138 runs, England reached home in 19 overs. 

England are the first men's team to hold the ODI and T20 World Cup titles at the same time.

Ben Stokes scored an unbeaten 52 runs in 49 balls to play a key role in his side's victory.

Moeen Ali played a cameo of 19 runs in 12 balls to provide quick runs at the back end of the run-chase.

Meanwhile, skipper Jos Buttler scored 26 runs in 17 balls at top of the order.

Pakistan suffered a major blow towards the end of the run-chase as star pacer Shaheen Afridi walked off the field due to a knee injury. The lanky pacer could only bowl 2.1 overs during the innings. 

Haris Rauf was the pick of the bowlers for Pakistan with the pacer bagging figures of 2-23 in four overs. 

Earlier, Sam Curran bagged three wickets for just 12 runs as England held Pakistan to 137-8 in the Twenty20 World Cup final at the Melbourne Cricket Ground on Sunday.

With forecast rain staying away, England produced disciplined and economical bowling to stymie the 2009 champions who never really got going, with Shan Masood´s 38 the top score.

Curran was deadly, accounting for Mohammad Rizwan, Masood and Mohammad Nawaz.

Adil Rashid´s leg spin also proved crucial, removing the dangerous Mohammad Haris with his opening ball then getting the crucial wicket of Babar Azam to end with 2-22.

Jos Buttler´s England, who reached the final with a thumping 10-wicket win over India, are aiming to become the sport´s first-ever dual white-ball champions after winning the 50-over World Cup in 2019.

Both teams are looking for a second T20 title after Pakistan´s success in 2009 and England´s a year later.

England, who were again without injured batsman Dawid Malan and pace bowler Mark Wood, won the toss and sent Pakistan into bat.

Ben Stokes was given the new ball and Pakistan were lucky to survive the over intact, with a nervy Mohammad Rizwan almost run out going for a risky single.

If Chris Jordan´s throw had been a direct hit he would have been gone.

Rizwan and Azam shared a century partnership in the semi-final against New Zealand and soon settled, with Rizwan clearing the ropes off Chris Woakes for the first six of the night in the fourth over.

But another big stand wasn´t to be, with Rizwan dragging a delivery from Curran on to his stumps on 15.

Pakistan, who powered past New Zealand by seven wickets to make the final, managed just 39-1 off the six-over powerplay, where only two fielders are allowed outside the 30-yard circle.

The introduction of Rashid soon after reaped an immediate reward with Haris (8) attacking him on his first ball only to sky a simple catch to Stokes.

Azam led Pakistan to 68-2 at the halfway point of the innings and then Masood began swinging the bat, hitting a four and six off Liam Livingstone.

But once again Rashid got the breakthrough, pulling off a diving catch from his own bowling to claim the vital wicket of Azam, whose 32 came off 28 balls.

Iftikhar Ahmed only lasted six balls before Masood and Shadab Khan (20) fell in the space of two runs as Curran and Chris Jordan kept the lid on any hope Pakistan had of a late flurry.

Sam Curran bagged the award for Player of the Match as well as Player of the Tournament. 

The story includes input from AFP.