T20 World Cup 2022: Fakhar Zaman replaces Usman Qadir in 15-member squad

T20 World Cup 2022: Usman Qadir has moved to travelling reserves

By Web Desk
October 14, 2022
Fakhar Zaman (L) and Usman Qadir (R) — PCB/Twitter

LAHORE: Top-order batter Fakhar Zaman replaced injured Usman Qadir in Pakistan's 15-member squad for the T20 World Cup 2022, the Pakistan Cricket Board (PCB) said on Friday.

The spinner has moved to travelling reserves.

"The change was necessary as Usman Qadir is yet to recover from a hairline fracture on his right thumb that he suffered during the 25 September T20I against England in Karachi. The leg-spinner will not be available for selection before 22 October," said the PCB.

Fakhar will arrive in Brisbane from London along with Shaheen Shah Afridi on Saturday and will be available for selection in the two warm-up matches against England (17 October) and Afghanistan (19 October), during which the team management will assess the left-handed batter's fitness.

Pakistan squad: Babar Azam (captain), Shadab Khan (vice-captain), Asif Ali, Fakhar Zaman, Haider Ali, Haris Rauf, Iftikhar Ahmed, Khushdil Shah, Mohammad Hasnain, Mohammad Nawaz, Mohammad Rizwan, Mohammad Wasim Jnr, Naseem Shah, Shaheen Shah Afridi and Shan Masood.

Travelling reserves: Mohammad Haris, Usman Qadir, and Shahnawaz Dahani