PAK vs NZ: Openers, bowlers lead New Zealand to revenge-taking victory against Pakistan

New Zealand bowlers get rid of Pakistan's batting as they could only score 130-7

By Web Desk
October 11, 2022
Source: Cricinfo

CHRISTCHURCH: After bowlers, New Zealand openers made the most of their home conditions as Pakistan lost their first match in the T20I tri-series by nine wickets. 

New Zealand openers Finn Allen and Devon Conway consolidated the foundation set by the bowlers in the first part of the match. Set to chase paltry 131 runs, the two openers scored 114 runs within 14 overs. 

Pakistani bowlers seemed helpless on a wicket that looked bowler-friendly when Pakistan were batting. 

Shadab Khan was the lone wicket-taker from Pakistan but it was too late to take a wicket at that stage of the game. Allen scored 62 off 42 balls including a boundary and six maximums. 

Devon Conway remained not out for 49 which was laced with five boundaries. New Zealand completed the chase in 16.1 to register a revenge-taking victory against Pakistan. 

Earlier, New Zealand bowlers packed a flow of runs as Pakistan's middle order failed once again. 

Experienced Tim Southee created chances for himself in his last two overs to completely put Pakistan under pressure in death overs. Pakistan could only score 130 for the loss of seven wickets in 20 overs. The right-arm pacer conceded just two runs off his last over while also taking two wickets. 

After deciding to bat first, Pakistan's in-form openers Babar Azam and Mohammad Rizwan failed to last longer. After the two scored 30 runs together in 4.2 overs, Michael Bracewell removed Rizwan to provide first breakthrough to the hosts. 

Shan Masood, a regular opener, came to bat at the number three position and failed again to score runs. He scored just 14 runs off 12 balls. 

Babar also fell to Bracewell in the 11th after his deputy Shadab Khan (8) gave his wicket to Mitchell Santner. Santner, who was making a return to playing XI, bagged 2-27 in his four overs. 

Haider, who was promoted to number five in previous match, came out to bat at number six this time around. The batting number shuffle didn't work for the youngster yet again as he could only score eight off 11. 

Asif Ali, unlike his natural game, scored 20-ball 25 including three boundaries. 

Southee, Bracewell, and Santner bagged two wickets each while Ish Sodhi bagged one. 


Pakistan captain Babar Azam won the toss and decided to bat first against New Zealand in fourth match of T20I tri-series.

Pakistan have made a change by bringing in Naseem Shah in place of Haris Rauf. 

Playing XIs

Pakistan: Babar Azam, Shadab Khan, Mohammad Rizwan, Shan Masood, Haider Ali, Iftikhar Ahmed, Mohammad Nawaz, Asif Ali, Shahnawaz Dahani, Mohammad Wasim Jr, Naseem Shah

New Zealand: Finn Allen, Devon Conway, Kane Williamson (c), Glenn Phillips, Mark Chapman, James Neesham, Michael Bracewell, Mitchell Santner, Ish Sodhi, Tim Southee, Blair Tickner