India overtakes Pakistan with most wins in T20Is in calendar year

India beat Australia by six wickets on Sunday

By Web Desk
September 26, 2022
— ICC/Twitter

KARACHI: India overtook Pakistan to become the side with the most number of T20I wins in a calendar year after beating Australia in the third T20I on Sunday.

With their most recent victory over Australia, Rohit Sharma's Indian team broke Pakistan's record for most T20I victories in a calendar year with 21. With 20 victories in 2021, Pakistan previously held the record.

Most T20I wins in a year:

  • India 21* - 2022
  • Pakistan 20 - 2021
  • Pakistan 17 - 2018
  • Uganda 16 - 2021
  • South Africa 15 - 2021 

The Indian team bounced back after losing to Australia in the series' opening game to win the next two contests, effectively clinching the series at home and breaking a previous mark.