T20 World Cup 2022: Shan Masood gets maiden T20I call-up as Pakistan named squad

Shahnawaz Dahani and Fakhar Zaman were named traveling reserves for T20 World Cup and tri-nation series in New Zealand

By Web Desk
September 15, 2022
Source: PCB

LAHORE: Pakistan team's chief selector Mohammad Wasim revealed the 15-member squad for ICC T20 World Cup 2022 and the tri-nation series in New Zealand. 

Shan Masood got his maiden T20I call-up whereas Fakhar Zaman was dropped from the main squad. On Wednesday, former Test captain Rashid Latif claimed that Fakhar has sustained knee injury. 

Moreover, Shahnawaz Dahani was also ruled out from the main squad of T20 World Cup.

Both Shahnawaz and Fakhar have been named among traveling reserves.  

Mohammad Wasim Jr and Shaheen Shah Afridi, who were ruled out of T20 Asia Cup 2022 due to injury, have returned to the mega event's squad. 


Babar Azam, Mohammad Rizwan, Shadab Khan, Asif Ali, Haider Ali, Haris Rauf, Iftikhar Ahmed, Khushdil Shah, Mohammad Hasnain, Mohammad Nawaz, Mohammad Wasim Jr, Naseem Shah, Shaheen Shah Afridi, Shan Masood, Usman Qadir

Travelling reserves: Fakhar Zaman, Mohammad Haris, Shahnawaz Dahani

Pakistan will travel to New Zealand first to play tri-nation series involving the home side and Bangladesh. T20 World Cup 2022 will be played in October-November in Australia.

Pakistan's schedule in T20 WC 2022

Warm-up matches

17 Oct - England v Pakistan, The Gabba, 6pm (PST)

19 Oct - Afghanistan v Pakistan, The Gabba , 1pm (PST)

Main Matches

23 Oct - Pakistan vs India, Melbourne Cricket Ground, 1pm (PST)

27 Oct - Pakistan vs Winner Group B, Perth Stadium, 4pm (PST)

30 Oct - Pakistan vs Runner-up Group A, Perth Stadium, 12pm (PST)

3 Nov - Pakistan vs South Africa, Sydney Cricket Ground, 1pm (PST)

6 Nov - Pakistan vs Bangladesh, Adelaide Oval, 9pm (PST)