PAK vs NED: Babar, Naseem, and Wasim star as Pakistan secures clean sweep over Netherlands

PAK vs NED: Naseem Shah claimed five wickets, while Wasim Jr took four scalps

By Web Desk
August 21, 2022

ROTTERDAM: Pakistan skipper Babar Azam, Naseem Shah, and Mohammad Wasim Jr starred as the touring party beat the Netherlands to secure a clean sweep in the last ODI of the series here at Hazelaarweg Stadium on Sunday.

Opting to bat first, Babar helped a struggling Pakistan reach 206 runs before restricting the hosts to 197 runs.

Naseem and Wasim were sensational as they collectively topped the batting line-up of the Netherlands. Naseem claimed his maiden five-wicket haul, while Wasim took four wickets to help their side win the match by nine runs.

Opening batter Vikramjit Singh scored a half-century before getting out to Wasim. While his partner Max O’Dowd only scored three runs.

Musa Ahmed and Bas de Leede failed to deliver with the bat, scoring 3 and 11 runs, respectively.

Meanwhile, middle-order batter Tom Cooper was excellent for the Netherlands and smashed 62 runs in 105 balls but it wasn't enough to help his side win.

Teja Nidamanuru scored 24 runs, and Logan van Beek played eight runs innings.

Earlier, An all-round bowling display helped the Netherlands bowl out Pakistan for 206 runs.

Opting to bat first, the Pakistani batting line-up couldn't bat according to their plan as debutant Abdullah Shafique was sent back to the pavilion after scoring only 2 runs in 5 balls by Vivian Kingma.

The hosts' pacer Bas de Leede was sensational as he claimed three wickets, while Vivian claimed two wickets.

Fakhar Zaman also wasn't up to the mark as he scored only 26 runs in 43 balls.

Meanwhile, skipper Babar came to rescue the touring party and helped them to reach 206 runs. The number one white-ball batter scored 91 runs in 125 balls, including seven fours and two sixes.

Aryan Dutt, Shariz Ahmed, and Logan van Beek claimed a wicket each.

Salman Ali Agha and Mohammad Nawaz couldn't perform well as they scored 24 and 27 runs, respectively.

Left-handed hard hitter Khushdil Shah was not upto his best against the hosts bowlers as he got run out by Shariz.

Opening batter Abdullah Shafique will be making his ODI debut, as he has replaced Imam-ul-Haq.

Meanwhile, Mohammad Haris has replaced Mohammad Rizwan, Zahid Mehmood has taken Shadab Khan's place, and Shahnawaz Dahani replaced Haris Rauf.

Playing XIs:

Pakistan: Babar Azam (c), Fakhar Zaman, Abdullah Shafique, Mohammad Haris (wk), Salman Ali Agha, Shadab Khan, Khushdil Shah, Shahnawaz Dahani, Zahid Mehmood, Naseem Shah, Mohammad Nawaz, Mohammad Wasim Jr

Netherlands: Scott Edwards (c & wk), Vikramjit Singh, Tom Cooper, Aryan Dutt, Viv Kingma, Bas de Leede, Teja Nidamanuru, Max O’Dowd, Musa Ahmed, Shariz Ahmed, Logan van Beek