No Pakistani players as UAE's T20 League reveals first list of foreign players

The schedule of PSL 8 and UAE ILT20 might clash next year

By Web Desk
August 08, 2022
Source: PCB

DUBAI: No Pakistani player was named in the first list of foreign players who were signed for the inaugural edition of UAE International League T20 (ILT20), scheduled in January next year. 

Star players from England, West Indies, Australia, South Africa, New Zealand, Sri Lanka, Afghanistan, Zimbabwe, and Ireland were signed for the cash-rich league. 

The first list, comprised of 21 players, includes Moeen Ali, Andre Russell, Dawid Malan, Wanindu Hasiranga, Sunil Narine, Evin Lewis, Colin Munro, Fabien Allen, Sam Billings, Tom Curran, Alex Hales, Dushmantha Chameera, Shimron Hetmyer, Akeal Hosein, Chris Jordan, Tom Banton, Sandeep Lamichhane, Chris Lynn, Rovman Powell, Bhanuka Rajapaksa, Mujeeb Ul Rahman.

Pakistani players are expected to not feature in this league as Pakistan Cricket Board (PCB) gears up to save the interest of the Pakistan Super League (PSL). The schedule of PSL 8 and UAE ILT20 might clash. 

India-backed T20 franchise league will offer a whopping $450,000 to its top players. The league’s franchise owners include Reliance Industries, Kolkata Knight Riders, Capri Global, GMR, Lancer Capital, and Adani Sportsline.