PHF names ten-member team for five-a-side event in Switzerland

The national team will be headed by Rehan Butt and coached by Waqas Sharif

By Web Desk
May 16, 2022
Pakistan hockey team during Europe Tour — Twitter

LAHORE: The Pakistan Hockey Federation (PHF) have named a ten-member squad for the upcoming five-a-side tournament, scheduled in Lausanne, Switzerland from June 4.

After holding trials for selection of the national team, players were selected on the basis of performance approved by PHF's President Brigadier (retd) Khalid Sajjad Khokhar.

The ten-member squad includes Waqar Younis (goalkeeper), Ehtesham Aslam, Aqeel Ahmed, Mohammad Murtaza Yaqoob, Tazeem-ul-Hassan (captain), Arshad Liaqat, Hassan Amin, Abuzar, Abdul Rehman, Mohammad Shahzeb.

Former hockey Olympian Rehan Butt has been appointed head coach while Waqas Ashraf will be his deputy. 

The national hockey team will leave for Lausanne, Switzerland on June 2.