LQ vs QG: All-round team show lead Qalandars to eight-wicket win over Gladiators

PSL 7: Fakhar Zaman and Kamran Ghulam scored fifties as Qalandars chased down the 142-run target in 17.4 overs

By Web Desk
February 13, 2022
Photo: PCB 

Lahore Qalandars have defeated Quetta Gladiators by eight wickets as they chased down the 142-run target in 17.4 overs courtesy of Fakhar Zaman and Kamran Ghulam's half-centuries in the one-sided 20th match of the Pakistan Super League (PSL) 2022 at Gaddafi Stadium in Lahore. 

Qalandars never looked in trouble while chasing the small total as their openers Fakhar and Abdullah Shafique provided them a 41-run stand. 

Fakhar continued his brilliant form by scoring a good fifty in 42 balls with the help of six fours. While Kamran remained not-out in 55 runs inning off 39 balls.   

Noor Ahmed and Ghulam Mudassar picked one wicket each, but Quetta bowlers had no plans to stop Qalandars from chasing the target. 

Bowling first, Lahore Qalandars restricted Quetta Gladiators to a small 141-run total for the loss of seven wickets in 20 overs after Shaheen Shah Afridi struck twice in the opening over.

Shaheen set the tone after he dismissed the dangerous Jason Roy on the second ball and James Vince on the next ball courtesy of a brilliant swinging delivery. 

Sarfaraz also departed for eight runs, as half of the Quetta's batting line-up was sent back to the pavilion with the score of just 54 runs. 

Though Iftikhar Ahmed played a good 52-run knock and forged small partnerships, he was also dismissed on the last ball of the 17th over by Haris Rauf. 

Other batters contributed with small scores with Umar Akmal scoring 25, Hassan Khan 17, and Noor Ahmed 13 to take Quetta to a total at which they can try to defend.

In terms of bowling for Lahore, Shaheen took two wickets for 27 runs in four overs, David Wiese also picked two in an economical spell, Haris Rauf picked one and Rashid Khan was again exceptional with tight lines giving away just 13 runs and taking one scalp. 

Lahore Qalandars skipper Shaheen Shah Afridi won the toss and elected to field first against Quetta Gladiators. 

Qalandars have 8 points from 6 games while Quetta has 6 points from 6 games.

Play and Win Cash Prizes: Become Geo Super's superfan by predicting PSL winners

Playing XIs:

Lahore Qalandars: Fakhar Zaman, Abdullah Shafique, Kamran Ghulam, Mohammad Hafeez, Philip Salt (wk), Harry Brook, Rashid Khan, David Wiese, Shaheen Shah Afridi (c), Haris Rauf, Zaman Khan.

Quetta Gladiators: James Vince, Jason Roy, Ahsan Ali, Sarfaraz Ahmed (c, wk), Iftikhar Ahmed, Umar Akmal, Noor Ahmad, Sohail Tanvir, Naseem Shah, Ghulam Mudassar, Hassan Khan.

Live score of the match appears below: