PZ vs IU: Hales, Sterling ferocious knocks takes United to nine wicket win over Zalmi

Hales remains not-out at 82, while Sterling smashed an 18-ball fifty as United complete one-sided win

By Web Desk
January 30, 2022
Photo: PSL Twitter

Islamabad United have defeated Peshawar Zalmi by nine wickets after they were given a ferocious 112-run opening stand from Paul Sterling and Alex Hales as they chased down the 169-run target in 15.5 overs in the fifth match of the Pakistan Super League (PSL) 2022 at National Stadium in Karachi.  

Hales remained 82 not-out, while Sterlingbrought his fifty in just 18 balls and scored 57.

All the Zalmi bowlers went to the cleaners, as United outclassed them in all departments to kick off their PSL 2022 campaign on a winning note. 

Peshawar Zalmi posted 168 runs for the loss of six wickets in 20 overs courtesy of Sherfane Rutherford's blistering 70-run not-out knock after they were invited to bat first by Islamabad United in the fifth match of the Pakistan Super League (PSL) 2022 

Zalmi were in real trouble at one stage after their four batters were sent back to the pavilion with the score of just 35 runs, but Shoaib Malik (25) and Rutherford partnership steered the ship.

Hasan Ali and Faheem Ashraf picked up two wickets each, while Mohammad Wasim and Shadab Khan took one.

Islamabad United' captain Shadab Khan won the toss and elected to bowl first against Peshawar Zalmi in the fifth match of the seventh edition of the Pakistan Super League (PSL) at the National Cricket Stadium Karachi.

Islamabad United will take on Peshawar Zalmi in their first match of the seventh edition of the PSL.

The match starts at 02:30 PM (PST).

Possible Playing XI:

Peshawar Zalmi: Tom Kohler-Cadmore (wk), Yasir Khan, Haider Ali, Hussain Talat, Shoaib Malik, Sherfane Rutherford, Usman Qadir, Ben Cutting, Wahab Riaz (c), Sohail Khan, Pat Brown

Islamabad United: Alex Hales, Paul Stirling, Rahmanullah Gurbaz, Mubashir Khan, Azam Khan (wk), Shadab Khan (c), Asif Ali, Faheem Ashraf,  Mohammad Wasim Jr, Hasan Ali, Marchant De Lange

Live score of the match appears below: