India announces 19-member squad for South Africa ODIs

All-rounder Jayant will replace Sundar, who is out due to COVID-19 infection, while KL Rahul will lead in place of Rohit Sharma

January 12, 2022
KL Rahul who will lead India in the ODI series against South Africa in Rohit Sharma's absence can be seen playing a shot during a match. —AFP/File

NEW DELHI: India all-rounder Jayant Yadav will replace Washington Sundar who is ruled out due to the COVID-19 infection, ahead of the three-match One Day International series against South Africa, selectors announced Wednesday.

Off-spinner Sundar was scheduled to join the 19-member white-ball squad in Cape Town but tested positive in Bangalore.

Yadav is part of the Indian Test squad currently touring South Africa.

The Board of Control for Cricket in India (BCCI) also called up fast bowler Navdeep Saini as a reserve for pacer Mohammed Siraj, who is recovering from a hamstring injury.

Opener K.L. Rahul last week replaced newly-appointed captain Rohit Sharma to lead the team for the series beginning January 19.

Sharma failed to recover from his own hamstring injury.


K.L. Rahul (c), Jasprit Bumrah (vc), Shikhar Dhawan, Ruturaj Gaikwad, Virat Kohli, Suryakumar Yadav, Shreyas Iyer, Venkatesh Iyer, Rishabh Pant (wk), Ishan Kishan (wk), Yuzvendra Chahal, R Ashwin, Bhuvneshwar Kumar, Deepak Chahar, Prasidh Krishna, Shardul Thakur, Md. Siraj, Jayant Yadav, Navdeep Saini.