South Africa announces 21-man squad for India Tests

Cricket South Africa announces 21-man squad for important upcoming three-match Test series against India

By Web Desk
December 07, 2021
Photo Source:Twitter

Cricket South Africa have announced their 21-man squad for the important upcoming three-match home Test series against India scheduled to begin from December 26. 

Duanne Olivier, who last played a Test for South Africa in 2019, has been called back after a change in the Kolpak system as he will join the likes of Kagiso Rabada and Anrich Nortje. Quinton de Kock has also been called back as opener Dean Elgar will lead the side while Temba Bavuma will serve as his deputy. 

Cricket South Africa's convener of selectors, Victor Mpitsang said in a statement: "We are really looking forward to the return of Dean Elgar and his men, it's been a long few months since the last time we saw them dominate in the West Indies. We are confident in the team that we have selected and believe fully in backing the talent that we have unearthed and cultivated over the last couple of seasons and giving players the backing that they deserve when they have continuously done well over a significant period of time."

 He added: "This Test series is also important in terms of getting some points in the Test Championship table and we are confident that this group will pick up from where they left off and give us a good show on home soil." 

South Africa's squad: Dean Elgar (captain), Temba Bavuma (vice-captain), Quinton de Kock (wk), Kagiso Rabada, Sarel Erwee, Beuran Hendricks, George Linde, Keshav Maharaj, Lungi Ngidi, Aiden Markram, Wiaan Mulder, Anrich Nortje, Keegan Petersen, Rassie van der Dussen, Kyle Verreynne, Marco Jansen, Glenton Stuurman, Prenelan Subrayen, Sisanda Magala, Ryan Rickelton, Duanne Olivier.