Former international umpire Simon Taufel on Monday claimed that match official Kumar Dharmasena awarded an extra run to England in the World Cup 2019 final against New Zealand, describing the decision as "an error of judgement".
While chasing a 242-run target, England were lagging behind in the final over when Lady Luck smiled on them. Needing nine from three, Ben Stokes was scrambling to reach the crease but during the act he ended up unintentionally guiding a throw from deep towards the boundary.
The boundary, coupled with the two the English players were supposed to have run, simplified the equation for the hosts who ended up tying the match before winning it in the Super Over.
Tauful, one of the most respected umpires in his officiating days and now a member of the MCC's laws sub-committee that devises laws of the game, has pointed out that Dharmasena should have awarded five runs instead of six.
"It's a clear mistake.. it's an error of judgment," Taufel is quoted as saying by foxsports.com.au. "They (England) should have been awarded five runs, not six."
Law 19.8, as per Taufel, says that "if the boundary results from an overthrow or from the wilful act of a fielder, the runs scored shall be any runs for penalties awarded to either side, and the allowance for the boundary, and the runs completed by the batsmen, together with the run in progress if they had already crossed at the instant of the throw or act."
´Frightening´ Archer won´t let-up against Australia says Stokes
Root glad to see Archer ´shake up things´ on Test debut
Windies resist sentimental Gayle Test recall to face India
Rain plays spoilsport as Gayle misses history bid against India
Pakistan to start fresh after letting go Arthur and Co
Arthur wants Sarfaraz replaced with Shadab, Azam: Indian agency
Gibson sacked as South African coach in major shake-up
England paceman Wood out for the season