Mohsin Khan becomes first casualty of Pakistan's disastrous World Cup campaign

Mohsin Khan says his services will be available for the board at a suitable time in future. — File photo

PCB's Cricket Committee Chairman Mohsin Khan on Thursday became the first casualty of Pakistan's disastrous World Cup campaign as he was reportedly sacked by the board.

The Pakistan Cricket Board (PCB), in a press release, announced that Khan held a meeting with PCB Chairman Ehsan Mani, and expressed his desire to be released from his current position.

Khan's request, effectively a resignation, was accepted, the statement added.

“I am very thankful to PCB Chairman Ehsan Mani for honouring me with the opportunity to chair the PCB Cricket Committee. My services are always available for Pakistan cricket at a suitable position in view of my past record.”

“It is always difficult to let go someone of Mohsin’s stature and calibre, but we respect his decision. I am thankful to Mohsin for his contributions and wish him well in his future endeavors,” Mani said of the outgoing executive.

However, insiders told Geo Super that Khan did not leave of his own accord and was actually relieved of his duties. It is pertinent to mention here that Khan had often complained that the Cricket Committee was dysfunctional 

While Khan may have left the position he held, it is expected that a different role, possibly an important one, will be given to him.

Meanwhile, PCB Managing Director Wasim Khan will now also act as the chair of the PCB Cricket Committee. 

The committee, at the end of the ICC Men’s Cricket World Cup 2019, is scheduled to "carry out a robust review of the Pakistan cricket team’s performance over the past three years" before submitting its recommendations to the PCB chairman and the Board of Governors.

The four-member cricket committee was established by the Governing Board of the PCB in Oct 2018. 

Former fast bowler Wasim Akram, former captain Misbahul Haq and former women’s captain and women’s selector Urooj Mumtaz are the other three members of the committee.